Founded in 2003, the Kim Scott Walwyn Prize honours the life and career of Kim Scott Walwyn – who was Publishing Director at Oxford University Press and who died in 2002 – and celebrates exceptional women in publishing. It has now been awarded nine times, with the 2017 Prize going to Alice Curry, Founder and Publisher at Lantana.

The Kim Scott Walwyn Prize is managed by the Prize Committee and run in partnership with the Society of Young Publishers. It is open to any woman who has worked in publishing in the UK for up to seven years and recognises the professional achievements and promise of women in the industry. The winner of the Prize receives £1000, sponsored by the SYP.

For updates on the Award follow us on Twitter.

 Previous winners

2017 Alice Curry
2015 Rebecca Lewis-Oakes
2014 Anne Perry
2013 Miriam Robinson
2012 Rukhsana Yasmin
2011 Kay Peddle
2010 (prize did not run)
2009 Kathy Rooney
2008 Clare Alexander
2007 Annette Thomas
2006 (prize did not run)
2005 Penelope Hoare
2004 Lynette Owen

 Prize Founding Advisory Committee

  • Professor Dame Gillian Beer DBE, FBA, FRSL, (King Edward VII Professor Emeritus at the University of Cambridge)
  • Catherine Clarke (Literary Agent, Managing Director at Felicity Bryan Associates)
  • Nicola Crossley, (SYP Vice-Chair 2010, Commissioning Editor for Coronet, an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Denise Johnstone-Burt (Publisher and Executive Editorial Director at Walker Books)
  • Kate Jury (Garden and Landscape Designer, Oxford Garden Partners; formerly a marketing director for Oxford University Press)
  • Professor Dame Hermione Lee CBE (biographer and President of Wolfson College Oxford)
  • Fiona Maddocks (the Observer Classical Critic)
  • Francine Stock (novelist and broadcaster)